CEC 2018 Adoption

Each province or territory determines for itself which edition of the Canadian Electrical Code (CEC) is referenced in its regulations. For the moment, only six jurisdictions had adopted the 2018 Canadian Electricity Code as indicated in this table. Quebec had adopted the 2015 Canadian Electrical Code in October 1, 2018 with a transitional period until April 1, 2019.

You may need to turn your device sideways to view the table below.

Table 1: Canadian Electrical Code Adoption (November, 2018)

Province/territoryAuthority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ)Adopted Code editionEffective Date*
AlbertaAlberta Municipal Affairs2015 CE CodeJanuary 1st, 2016
British ColumbiaBC Safety Authority2015 CE CodeFebruary 29, 2016
ManitobaManitoba Hydro2018 CE CodeOctober 1, 2018
City of Winnipeg2018 CE CodeOctober 1, 2018
New BrunswickProv. of NB. Dep of Public Safety2015 CE CodeJuly 1, 2015
Newfoundland and LabradorProvince of Newfoundland and Labrador2018 CE CodeJuly 2018
City of St, John’s2015 CE Code
Northwest TerritoriesNorthwest Territories Public Works and Services2018 CE CodeJune 2018
Nova ScotiaNova Scotia Labour and Advanced Education2018 CE CodeMay 1, 2018
NunavutNunavut Community and Government Services2015 CE CodeOctober 1, 2015
OntarioElectrical Safety Authority2018 CE CodeMay 5, 2018
Prince Edward islandPrince Edward Island Inspection Services2015 CE CodeJanuary 1, 2016
QuébecRégie du Bâtiment du Québec2015 CE CodeOctober 1, 2018

transitional period until April 1, 2019

SaskatchewanSakPower2018 CE CodeJanuary 1, 2019
YukonYukon Department of Community Services2015 CE CodeApril 1, 2015

*It is recommended to contact the Authority Having Jurisdiction to confirm which edition is in force.

This table will be updated as provinces adopt new code standards.

By |2019-03-12T13:39:41+00:00March 11th, 2019|